jump to navigation

Mifi Phone: Yup, still. +Connection tips. April 11, 2013

Posted by geek-ish.com in Uncategorized.
trackback

I zipped down to southern VA, Kitty Hawk and Nags Head NC to see family & find some beaches between VA Beach & Myrtle Beach and was disappointed to learn my mifi didn’t have a signal for most of the trip. I needed it for GPS to make sure I had my directions straight as this was my very first time tackling these roads. Thank goodness for multiple Mickey D’s spots and their wifi at EVERY spot – woohoo! Anywho, I had originally assumed that my carrier just didn’t have coverage in those areas but thought I’d follow-up with their support folks after the trip to see if there wasn’t something I could do to ensure I had the best mifi connection possible – and woohoo x2! They gave me some great tips for optimizing signal strength and quality. Here is the reference [1]:

  1. Check for interference.  Place your device at least 3 feet away from any other electronic device, including microwaves, cordless phones,  wireless routers, stereo speakers, or anything that could cause frequency interference.  This might only be a temporary problem, but it is good to know just in case a nearby device is causing the interruption.

  2. Find an open area.  Relocate your device to an open area or a window to enhance access to the signal.  Turns out that double-pane glass is composed in a manner where the gap between the panes often interrupts signal transmission.

  3. Find the nearest tower and check coverage.   My carrier has a ‘Tower Finder’ utility to help locate the nearest tower. Reference the tower location as a guide to adjusting your device location and position in order to provide the best path to the tower’s signal. Try turning your device in the new location to improve the signal.

Although these tips didn’t apply to the travel circumstances I experienced, it just might help when I find I don’t have a signal in covered areas I frequent.  Thanks for making things a little more Clear. 🙂

1 – https://www.clear.com/my-account/connection-optimizer/test-my-signal

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

