jump to navigation

Walmart Finally Takes Over The World November 29, 2008

Posted by geek-ish.com in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

I don’t know squat about economics; but I do know about being a consumer.  As a consumer, I know there’s no way I’m spending more than $699 for a TV nowadays.  For some reason $700 or greater just seems more extravagant than I can justify.  I’m not sure why $699 seems better, but I know it does.  After reading this article, it seems I’m in the ballpark:  http://www.nytimes.com/2008/11/29/technology/29televisions.html?pagewanted=1&_r=1

I’m betting manufacturers & retailers will employ some sort of price floor to fix consumers like me, or at least they will try to.  Shucks – given how identical the different stores Black Friday advertised prices were, retailers probably have already started freezing competitive price drops.  Whatever the case may be, I’m betting on Walmart.  Somehow Walmart always gets manufacturers & retailers to bend to its will when other retail outlets can’t.  If Walmart can’t get the price down, it can’t come down.

But if the price can’t come down, will I come up?

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

